Gujarat poll results : BJP surges ahead, Cong and GPP trail

PTI, 20-12-2012 03:33:08

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print


Ahmedabad: The BJP is leading in 26 seats, Congress in 10 and the GPP leads in 1.

The BJP surges ahead, leading in 21 seats, with the Congress leading in 9 seats and the others in one.

The BJP leads in 18 seats while the Congress takes lead in seven constituencies.



Leads come in from 22 seats from Gujarat with the BJP leading in 15 and the Congress in 7.

The BJP takes an edge, leading in 11 seats while the Congress continues to lead in 6 seats.

The BJP is leading in 9 seats and the Congress leads in 7 constituencies. The GPP is yet to open its tally.

The BJP leads in 7 seats with the Congress taking lead in six constituencies.

As per the early trends, the BJP and the Congress lead in six seats each.

The BJP takes a lead in six seats while the Congress continues to lead in five seats.

Both the BJP and the Congress are leading in 5 seats each.

The BJP leads in five seats with the Congress leading in two seats.

The Congress is leading in two seats while the BJP continues to lead in two constituencies.

The BJP leads in three seats while the Congress and others are yet to open their tally.

The BJP takes lead in two seats.

8.30 am: The Bharatiya Janata Party leads in one seat as the trends begin to pour in.

The counting for the Gujarat elections began on Thursday with the exit polls predicting a comfortable win for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and a hat-trick for Chief Minister Narendra Modi.

Almost all major poll surveys have predicted a landslide victory for Modi. Speculations are already rife that the BJP leader may well be projected as BJP’s prime ministerial candidate for the 2014 General Election if Modi manages to win by a landslide margin this time. If Modi wins this will be the fifth straight victory of the BJP in Gujarat.

According to the post-poll survey conducted by the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) and seat projections by Chennai Mathematical Institute Director Rajeeva Karandikar, Modi will steamroll the opposition and become the Chief Minister of Gujarat once again.

The post-poll survey of 3755 persons at 239 locations in 60 constituencies in Gujarat shows that Modi is going to better the 2002 and 2007 results and win by a very handsome margin. While the BJP will have a vote percentage of 48, the party is going to win 129-141 seats (the party had won 117 in 2007 in the 182-member Assembly) with the Congress trailing far behind with 36 per cent of the votes and its worst show in the state with only 37 to 45 seats (the party had won 59 in 2007). The other smaller parties would garner 16 per cent of the votes and end up with 4 to 10 seats (others had won six seats which included three by the NCP, one by the JD(U) and two Independents in 2007).

In Gujarat, where 71.32 per cent voters cast their ballot, the counting will be held for all the 182 Assembly constituencies in the state, culminating the much-watched poll exercise which started on October four with the Election Commission announcing the poll schedule.

Polling was held in two phases on December 13 and 17, and the counting will begin at 8 am at 33 places in the state where 44,579 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have been kept in strong rooms under heavy security.

The Gujarat Assembly election was virtually a three-way fight with rebel BJP leader Keshubhai Patel, a former Chief Minister, launching his political outfit Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP) months ahead of the polls and main Opposition Congress running a sustained and aggressive campaign against Modi. Congress had lost power in the key western state in 1990. Apart from the three main contenders, 33 other parties are also trying their luck at the hustings.

Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment   You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.
Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request. Hence, sending offensive comments using will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.
Similarly, reserves the right to edit / block / delete the messages without notice any content received from readers.

View More

Now Open - Kallianpura Rotary Dialysis Center at Goretti Hospital, Santhekatte.Now Open - Kallianpura Rotary Dialysis Center at Goretti Hospital, Santhekatte.
Computerised Clinical Laboratory, Kemmannu.Computerised Clinical Laboratory, Kemmannu.
Milarchi Lara - Bulletin Issue July 2020.Milarchi Lara - Bulletin Issue July 2020.
Cut down your medical expenses. With Manipal Arogya CardCut down your medical expenses. With Manipal Arogya Card
Choice Furniture vast household showroom opens at Santhekatte, KallianpurChoice Furniture vast household showroom opens at Santhekatte, Kallianpur
Focus Studio, Near Hotel Kidiyoor, UdupiFocus Studio, Near Hotel Kidiyoor, Udupi
Canara Beach Restaurant, Hoode/Bengre, Udupi.Canara Beach Restaurant, Hoode/Bengre, Udupi.
Delite Catering, SanthekatteDelite Catering, Santhekatte
Welcome to Thonse Naturecure HospitalWelcome to Thonse Naturecure Hospital
St. Alphonsa of India